Garden Journal: June 7, 2012

Hello garden enthusiasts!

My name is Amy Curtis, and I am a rising fourth year from Connecticut who’ll be working in the garden this summer. While I would love to profess having an impeccable green thumb, I’m fairly new to the art of gardening. Hopefully throughout this summer I’ll learn how this beautiful garden grows and share my experiences with you.

Sesame (Sesamum indicum)

I have spent a couple of weeks in the garden thus far. I find it rather peaceful to wake with (or before) the sun and spend time alone with the dirt and the fledgling plants. I’m a boisterous person by nature but the garden brings out my most tranquil side.  Due to my relative inexperience with gardens, my jobs have predominantly consisted of simple tasks such as weeding and watering. Despite a few mishaps with the water hose (it can get pretty erratic when first turned on), I think I have successfully been accomplishing both.

Flax (Linum usitatissimum)

Last Saturday consisted of the first group workday where I joined with fellow intern, Kari and laid mulch throughout the garden. Mulch has practical properties; it reduces weeds, helps soil retain moisture and mitigates soil temperatures. It essentially acts like a blanket, regulating heat. But the mulch also has decorative properties too; the rich brown of the mulch made the garden look uniform and lovely.

On Saturday, we also spent time planting peanuts because squirrels, we presume, had eaten the ones previously sowed. I learned how far apart to space each nut and how each one needed to be planted two inches below the soil. We covered the beds with netting to prevent any future little creature form interfering. Before our Saturday workday concluded, Lily (our garden guru) planted cotton surrounding the perimeter and Kerri led me up the compost pile to turn our weeds into nutrients.

Indigo (Indigofera tinctoria)

All in all, I’m learning a ton! I don’t look good (see image below) but I felt good walking away from the garden with mulch covering my thighs and a newly formed gardeners tan.

This entry was posted in Garden Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

